Speech & Language Therapy Just Got More Exciting!

29 Mar

 

The New iPad2

 

The brand new iPad2 has arrived at PS20!  It will be a couple of days before I start using it in therapy sessions with students because there are thousands of apps and books to sort through and organize.  I will say, there are so many great educational and clinical apps for the iPad that I can’t believe we spent so many years using flashcards and other paper materials.  Don’t get me wrong, there is still a time and place for paper books and paper materials.  But this is seriously exciting stuff people!

If you are currently reading this in an email update, please click on the link to my actual blog.  I have updated links for Apps for both the iPhone and iPad that are relevant to language development, literacy and communication skills (for parents, educators and Speech Therapists).  These links are continuously updated so check back often.

I have been scouring the internet reading reviews from educators, administrators and Speech Therapists in both school and clinical settings to find the best, most effective, most engaging Apps to use with our students here at PS20.

If you’re interested in a sneak peek of some of the iPad Apps I’ll be introducing here with our students, you can check out this great, user-friendly list, that was organized by another Speech-Language Pathologist, Barbara Fernandez.

 

2 Responses to “Speech & Language Therapy Just Got More Exciting!”

  1. connie cortese March 29, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    What a great tool to have. So many wonderful apps.

  2. technologyinspecialed April 9, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I will be interested to learn more about how you use this with your students. I may want to use the techniques with you son.

    I have a blog that details some of the tools that I use. check it out @ http://techinspecialed.com/

Leave a Reply

