In Alignment

12 Sep

Yogis like to be in alignment.  So do Speech & Language Therapy goals in a school setting.  And now, here at PS20, all of the Kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade Speech-Language therapy goals are aligned with the Common Core Curriculum Standards.

As explained in a previous post, the Common Core Standards define the knowledge and skills students should have within their K-12 education. Students who have Speech & Language disorders often have trouble mastering these skill sets.  Speech and language therapy in our school focuses on helping students with speech and language disorders access the classroom curriculum and master the skill sets defined in the Common Core Standards.

In an effort to increase collaboration with classroom teachers and in striving for a more interdisciplinary approach to Speech-Language therapy, I have spent time this summer dissecting the Common Core Standards and looking at ways to align student Speech/Language therapy goals to address grade level skill sets.

On the bulletin-board outside my classroom, teachers and parents can see which Common Core Standards we are addressing in therapy.  The big domains we work on in therapy are articulation, phonics, sequencing/ story retells, morphology, syntax, fluency,pragmatics/conversational skills and vocabulary/semantic relationships between words.  The language of the Common Core Standards are now reflected on student’s IEP‘s in their measurable annual goals.

Here is an example of an aligned goal:

“Given a general conversational prompt or when retelling an orally presented story, {FirstName} will orally construct sentences containing appropriate morphologic features (word endings) such as plurals (trees, dishes), possessive (boy’s), articles (a, an, the), present progressive -ing (running), regular and irregular past tense (spilled, wrote), third person singular (he walks), comparatives/superlatives (-er, -est), negation (not, or un as in unhappy), reflexive pronouns (themselves, myself) and prepositions (in, on, under, behind, beside, between, in front).”

A student with a language disorder may have difficulty discriminating between and using word endings and appropriate morphological features.  When you look at the Common Core Standards for Kindergarten, First and Second grade, students are expected to construct sentences that include a variety of  word forms, depending on the grade.

Each IEP goal will have a corresponding rubric that I can use to track where a student is at in September and measure growth throughout the year.  In the example above, I would be collecting a student’s language sample at 3 or 4 points over the course of the school year to see if their use of word endings and prepositions is increasing and approaching competency.

I’m excited to have finished with this little project as I know it will help us build upon our already strong and integrative special education program here at PS20.

Please feel free to contact me by email or stop by my office if you have questions or want to talk more about this!

24 Responses to “In Alignment”

  1. Lisa September 15, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I would love to look at your K-3 goals. My district in Arizona is in the process of revamping goals specifically to align with the Common Core Standards. Would you be willing to share some of your work?

    • Rachel Lynn Eckenthal September 19, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      Hi Lisa. I’d be happy to share my goals with you. I will email you a list and you will recognize some of the Common Core Standards language in some of them.

  2. Julia L. September 27, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Hey Rachel! Your old coworker Perri Lawrie who I work with now told me about your blog and I’m a fan! 🙂 I’m an SLP working at KIPP (Knowledge is Power Program) servicing 3 of our schools along with 2 other SLPs on our team who service multiple KIPP NYC schools as well.

    For the past several years, I’ve been looking to connect with SLPs who are providing evidence-based, academically integrated therapy but they have been hard to find! I LOVE your stuff! Thank you so much for your blog!

    • Rachel Lynn Eckenthal September 27, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

      Hi Julia! Thanks so much for your note and for reading my blog! I’m always happy to share ideas and would love to hear about some of the evidence-based, academically integrated therapy ideas you have as well! I’m glad Perri put you in touch with me and I look forward to staying in touch!

  3. Anita Guinn October 21, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Can I also get a copy! We are starting the process here, and I am the only SLP in this and 2 other districts I serve! Would love to be ahead of the game on this one!

    Anita Guinn

  4. Sue Ciampaglio October 27, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    I would like to have a copy of you aligned goals. Does your state require objectives? I taught smart goal writing in my district several years ago when we changed from a self-published goal bank to no goal bank with a new IEP program.

  5. Christine Lembach October 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I am so happy to have found your blog. I also would love a copy of your work aligning therapy goals with the Common Core Standards. It would be an invaluable resource as we begin our journey with the Common Core.

  6. Jennifer November 3, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I work with deaf and hard of hearing middle school students and I have been SEARCHING for support in this area. This is the ONLY resource I have found. Would you be willing to share goals with me? Hopefully I can get started on the middle school age range and share with YOU 🙂

  7. Pat November 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Hi Rachel, I would absolutely love to have anything you are willing to share as far as aligning speech-language goals with the common core standards. I recently found your blog and just love it!!!! Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge!!

    • Rachel Lynn Eckenthal November 23, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Thanks for your comments! Check out the newest post and let me know if this information is useful!

  8. Anita Guinn January 20, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Could I also get a copy of the goals you have written. I am the only therapist for 3 districts, and would love to get ahead on this! Thank you!

    Anita

  9. Alison Stackpole January 22, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    I was happy to find these posts as I head into Common Core Standards professional development tomorrow. I think I’ll be able to write goals fairly easily, and will probably start writing my goals that way ASAP to prepare for next year. But would you be willing to share the rubrics you wrote about? That would be so helpful!

  10. Megan Williamson (@MegMWiliamson) January 23, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    I would love to have a copy as well. We are going to the common core standards in Mississippi. VERY OVERWHELMED at the moment. Thanks!

    megan.williamson@lamarcountyschools.org

  11. Suzy Davidson March 2, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    I would love to have a copy of your goals and objectives! A fellow therapist just contacted me in a panic about writing new goals and objectives. Anything you have to offer would be greatly appreciated.

  12. Linda Seth March 17, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I am just beginning to explore linking my kids’ IEP goals to the CCSS. Your comments have been very helpful and encouraging. IF you are willing to share your rubrics, I would very much value the opportunity to see them.
    Thanks for your energy in this area!
    L.Seth

  13. Connie Colson March 29, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Looks like a lot of SLP’s all over the country are looking into aligning our goals to the common core standards. If you are sharing the goals that you have written, I would love to have a copy also. The SLP’s in our coop are meeting tomorrow to start this process; or at least start thinking how we are going to align our goals to the common core standards. Thanks for starting this blog; I will be following it closely!

  14. Ruth April 6, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    I am excited about having my goals aligned to the common core so if you wouldn’t mind sharing our goals I would appreciate it! Keep blogging!

  15. Marty April 10, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    I would love a copy of your goals as well. My district is just getting started to using the standards and they look at SLP’s like we are not a part of it, but we really are. It is hard to convince others where our role stands. I would appreciate any help you can provide and reading the blog, along with receiving your goals, would be wonderful!! Thanks

  16. Debora Nezich April 10, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Hi Rachel, I just came across your blog while looking for information regarding aligning goals with the CCSS. Would you share the goals/rubrics that you have developed so far? BTW, I love your site! Thanks!

  17. Kendra April 25, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Love the blog as well. I would like a copy of the aligned goals and rubrics. We are suppose to implement now, but have had no training as usual. No reason to reinvent the wheel, if i can have something to go by. Thanks you for all the work you have done on the behalf of oother SLPs.

  18. Karen Roberts May 16, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    I just found your website and am VERY impressed! Would you be willing to share your goals with me as well? Thank you!

  19. Danna Frank July 17, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I work for a district in Kentucky and we are trying to align our goals to the core content as well. I would love to also have a copy of your goals if you wouldn’t mind so we can see if we are headed in the right direction. My email address is danna.frank@warren.kyschools.us

    Thanks

  20. Susan Froehlich August 21, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I would love a copy of your goals. I am the only Speech Therapist in an urban charter school and we are progressing with technology so fast and I need to integrate SL into the general ed curriculum.
    Thanks!

  21. Rebecca Krehbiel September 11, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    We also are in the process of aligning curriculum and goals with the common core standards. I would be very happy to receive a copy of your goals and rubrics if you are willing to share. Very overwhelming at this point! I know that once we are able to make sense of it all goal writing will be much easier and much more practical. Thanks so much! my email is rebecca.krehbiel@usd495.net.

Leave a Reply

